Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Just hit 50....

So I just hit 50... expecting a new world to open up...

Then I ran into a brick wall named ZEN.  

I had found the game enjoyable when I started, and subbed after 20 hours of gameplay. I then played furiously for another 60 hours, and all the while, though cognizant  of the C-Store, I hadn't really looked into it... after all, I was a monthly subscriber, not a F2P leech.   Then,  after hitting 50, I found I had no new ship options other than to purchase Zen.   This and of itself wouldn't be a problem, however after looking into it, the zen prices seem ridiculous to me. 

I'll freely admit, I'm new to the F2P genre (having been a player of SWTOR prior to it becoming F2P, then STO.  My issue is that  I see no way to advance for monthly subscribers with a pittance of a stipend of 500 zen.  There is no "generic" vice admiral equivilent ship that I can see.  Are there any comparable ships available through in-game means?   I don't see the harm in paying for convenience or "bling"  but I don't see ships available on the exchange or as rewards as far as I can tell without paying 25 bucks or more a ship.

Am I missing something here?  I've got no issues paying a monthly subscription for a service, but BIG issues paying real money for pixels.

Comments

• flizzerflizzer Member RarePosts: 2,454
    Woah, I'm glad I never tried this one out now. Are you saying you are paying a monthly sub and still need to use the cash shop?   But I thought all the pro-sub people told us if you pay a sub, you do not need to use the cash shop.   So much for sub games.
  • lordstarwolflordstarwolf Member Posts: 53
    Well you get a stipend of 500 zen a month... enough to buy an eyepatch.... or a tier 1 (lvl 1) ship. Or buy 5 keys to the millions of lockboxes that drop. 

• WhiteLanternWhiteLantern Member RarePosts: 3,306