Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Possible Graphics Card Upgrade (Help)

EvilMixEvilMix Member Posts: 251

Hey guys, posted here before, built a PC a few months with the help of you awesome members, so I'm coming back and I'm thinking about upgrading my graphics card some time soon. Here are my current PC specs that I know off the top of my head.

i5-3570k Processor, 16gb of ram, GTX 560, 800W power supply, windows 7, don't know the motherboard, but could check if needed. So ya, I'm just trying to find out if I should upgrade my video card soon, and is it worth it? Will the $200-400 I'm looking to spend to upgrade actually make much of a difference? Let me know your ideas.

P.S. I'm also looking for a 1tb HDD if any of you know of a trust worthy one I should go with, I'm not really good with building PCs so let me know that as well. Thanks for the suggestions guys, you're great!

Comments

• QuizzicalQuizzical Member LegendaryPosts: 25,355

Exactly what power supply do you have, and what case?

The nearest modern equivalent to a GeForce GTX 650 is perhaps a Radeon HD 7790.  I'd generally advise against upgrading unless you double the performance of your old card.  That would put you roughly into Radeon HD 7950 or GeForce GTX 670 territory, so if you're going to upgrade, you should plan on spending $300+.

• ShakyMoShakyMo Member CommonPosts: 7,207
    The newer 7950 BOOST cards give the best pixel per buck at the high end - e.g. the his iceq cards (but asus, sapphire etc.. also make boost versions). These are factory clocked with vendor coolers fitted, they outbench the 670gtx and cost less than the 660ti (well here in the UK anyway)

Decent hard disks would be likes of seagate or Samsung,

Like quiz says only upgrade your gpu if you will really really notice the difference. Which puts you in 660gtx / 7870 territory at least.