Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What would of happened if SWTOR advertised like WoW?

13»

Comments

• Mors.MagneMors.Magne Member UncommonPosts: 1,549
    Originally posted by Lugors
    Originally posted by Mors.Magne

I work in the PR / advertising industry and I'll let you into a little secret:

The best way of advertising a product is to have a good product in the first place. Otherwise, you've got nothing to sell.

Adversiting agencies never say this to clients because it makes us appear unimportant. 

In my opinion, WoW is better than SWTOR because it has more variety. For example, the time and effort that must have gone into pet battles is absolutely enourmous. 

EA did a full court press for SWTOR when it released.  The marketing and IP generated 2.4mil box sales.  The quality of the game will keep them playing, and it did not live up to the billing.

I don't disagree with you.

• WalterWhiteWalterWhite Member UncommonPosts: 411

No matter how amazing the advertising campaign would have been, you would still log into the game anticipating wonders and joy and log out one very disappointed person wondering if you logged into the right game.

I fell for the hype that was SWTOR and now I will never pre order another MMO or even buy upon release. I would rather wait a few months for the honeymoon period to be over with to get a real sense of the gamers perspectives through forums/word of mouth ect ect.

• TheHavokTheHavok Member UncommonPosts: 2,423
    Originally posted by Popple
    Originally posted by TheHavok

I would say that EA had much more advertising in 2011/2012 then Blizzard had in 2004/2005. 

I don't really remember any WoW commercials until 2007.  But either way, SWTOR's gameplay sucked balls.  All the corners they cut could be felt at every point in that game.  Marketing cannot hide a game with glaring issues.

1)Never agree to work with EA on an mmorpg project