Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Microsoft's IllumiRoom Concept Makes Your Living Room Terrifying

firefly2003firefly2003 Member UncommonPosts: 2,527

Microsoft is no rookie when it comes to experimenting with new gaming technology, as they've spent over two years trying to convince us that Kinect is a thing worth owning. Based on a new tech demo video showcased at Samsung's CES keynote, they're working on a new display-based accessory that incorporates the gamer's living room.

I'm no expert on display technology, but it appears that the IllumiRoom accessory makes it so a whole bunch of crazy crap gets shined all over your walls. The video below showcases flames erupting out of the side of the television, city streets and other backgrounds scrolling by on the room's back wall, and assorted particles flying all over the entertainment center's drawers and shelves. 

According to the official Microsoft Research YouTube page, this video is a real time demonstration. A thread on NeoGAF is currently speculating that the tech may be related to this patent

No details regarding a potential retail release were discussed, but the Microsoft Research site says that more info is coming in late April at the CHI 2013 conference in Paris..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=re1EatGRV0w

Comments

• TheutusTheutus Member UncommonPosts: 636
    buy a projector. set a screen thats too small for it. same affect. looks distracting.
  • scooby1971scooby1971 Member UncommonPosts: 17
    I agree wih Theutus on this one. 
  • CastillleCastillle Member UncommonPosts: 2,679

I remember there being a product like this it was called "adaptive ambient lighting" or something....It worked on DX games and it would light up the stuff based on the light on your screen o.O

Edit : nvm after watching the vid, the products are compeltely different.  this is just a projector rofl