Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Best Gaming Notebook ~ $1000-1500?

IselinIselin Member LegendaryPosts: 18,719

Hey all,

I'm usually pretty knowledgeable about desktops and have been building my own for a couple of decades but when it comes to laptop/notebooks I'm a total noob.

I've been spending a lot of time away from home working and the iPad just ain't doing it for my gaming. I'd much prefer to just keep on playing my MMO du jour when I'm on the road.

But I don't really want to go nuts $-wise either.

Just to let you know what I'm used to, my current desktop is built around an i7-930 @ 4GHz with a Radeon HD 7990 and a couple of SSDs (OS and gaming.)

One of the ones I have been looking at for ~ $1200 is the MSI GE70 0ND-032US. The CPU is an i7-3610QM. It has 8GB ram and the GPU is a GTX 660M w/ 2GB. No SSD unfortunately. Here's a link to the specs: http://www.ncix.com/products/?sku=73048&vpn=9S7%2D175611%2D032&manufacture=MSI%2FMicroStar&promoid=1393

What do you think? Suggestions for something better? I'd like to get it from NCIX since they're local to me and I can just walk in and pick it up. Whatever you suggest, I'd rather not go smaller than 17". Thanks in advance.

"Social media gives legions of idiots the right to speak when they once only spoke at a bar after a glass of wine, without harming the community ... but now they have the same right to speak as a Nobel Prize winner. It's the invasion of the idiots”

― Umberto Eco

“Microtransactions? In a single player role-playing game? Are you nuts?” 
― CD PROJEKT RED

Comments

• QuizzicalQuizzical Member LegendaryPosts: 25,355

A lot depends on your priorities.  The GeForce GTX 660M is the top laptop bin of the lowest end GPU chip of the generation--from either AMD or Nvidia.  We could call it mid-range, perhaps, but it's certainly nothing better than that, and will lose by a considerable margin to $100 desktop cards.