Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

It's worth a look, but after 1 week, you'll be "done" with it, and why...

HappyFunBallHappyFunBall Member UncommonPosts: 221

I LOVE games like UO, and I've been waiting for a Sandbox world to explore for many years now, and just really haven't found it.

I'd play UO if they made a decent client with all the functionality of razor, uoassist, and the original client combined, but sadly, they failed each time they tried, then scrapped each project.  Epic fail(s).

Anyway, I never even heard of Linkrealms until a week ago... maybe less.  Odd, b/c it's been around for 3 years in one form or another.  The dev team, I'm told, is just 2 people.  Even that doesn't explain how it's only where it's at in 3 whole years, even if they work on it part-time.  I'm a principal software engineer, so take my word for that :)

Honestly, take a look, but there's no compelling reason to stay and play it... Why?  Because it's not even close to done and you will run out of things to do in just a few days of playing.  The world is TINY and for the most part, EMPTY.  In a few days of playing, I've seen bascially seen the entire "world".  It's unfinished, unpolished, and not even close to complete.

There aren't really many quests, and when I said "aren't many", I mean that there's about 10 quests total.  They are all newbie quests with terrible rewards, and only help you learn to play the game.  I gave up after 3 of them.

There's only one main town.  If you go "explore", you'll find bascially pretty scenery and nothing else.  Really, almost no wandering monsters, places of interest, chests, loots, NOTHING!  Also, each "zone" is absolutely tiny.  You walk for 15 seconds, and you're in a new zone again... it makes the game feel terrible UN-seamless...There are also dead ends and usually only 1 way to get somewhere which is irritating as hell for a sandbox game.