Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Asheron's Call, deserves more than this.

Spector88Spector88 Member UncommonPosts: 112

I started playing MMO's when I was 9. If you want to call "The Realm" (AOL/SIERRA 1996 or so) an MMO, which is still around today much like Asheron's Call is. I've seen what I (Feeling as though I am a pioneer in MMOs) consider tiers in MMO history. Asheron's Call I would consider the second major tier along with Dark Age of Camelot (RvRvR) and EQ (Raid) those being the biggest contributions that stick out, along with more complex crafting systems etc.

What bothers me is this. Asheron's Call never really got a fair shake at the market. It was always in the shadows to EQ and DAoC even, although it has been beloved, and respected especially by the way of Darktide by true MMORPG fans. The fact that in 2012 the game still has a dedicated solid following willing to pay 12.95 a month, is a testiment alone. Considering flop after flop with newer graphics and way less to offer come out.

Turbine or whomever was in control of Asherons Call 2, ruined Asheron's Call the franchise (for now). Asheron's Call 2 had nothing to do with AC1 in many ways, and was way way before its time in many departments. My dad worked in IT, I always had relatively decent PC's, and my PC could barely play AC2 when it came out, I bet a staggering amount of the market could barely play AC2, it was ahead of its time in many ways, but also like many games pushed out too soon and ruined by bugs and lack of content.

Asheron's Call is the best MMORPG/game to ever be released in my mind period. I've played them all, see the game list above? I've played relatively good amounst of atleast 60-75% of the games on that list, I've pre-ordered most of the new tier games, (Tera, Aion, Rift, Guild Wars 2) and they all seem to fall below what they could achieve.