Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

I really feel that prior to 1.2 SWTOR had the best MMO combat since WoW.

2»

Comments

• KarteliKarteli Member CommonPosts: 2,646
    Originally posted by solarine
    Originally posted by DrunkWolf
    Originally posted by Saur0n
    LoL Best combat since wow?  Since when was wow the combat benchmark?  That's sad.

^ this +1000

its sad that so many people started with WoW and that was their first MMO. now everybody compares other games to that as if it was the best at everything. WoW combat = garbage.

Tera combat at least took some kind of skill, same with conan.

but give me Asherons Call combat any day of the week over any of these thempark nub games.

You're assuming way too much.

I started playing MMOs even before they were called MMOs... :P And I'd still say WOW has the best flowing ground combat in any MMO up to now. I'm not talking about systems and features, but purely about responsiveness, animation and the resulting "fluidity" of combat. Yep, it's mostly a feeling and thus somewhat subjective, but there it is.

Though I have to agree Asheron's Call had very good combat, too, in a totally different style. Actually I'd probably rank that 2nd overall. But I haven't played that in years - like, *long, long* years. :)

As for click-combat, I'd probably go with Lineage 2.

TERA, I was quite underwhelmed.

Gee I dunno, I find the responsiveness and "fluidity of combat in GW2 superior.  The animations are a whole new ballpark - for instance when you knock back a mob/player in GW2 they flip, spin and land on their butt.  That is quite an animation.  Similar effects with all mobs types too, for instance if you knock back even a snake the snake actually rotates around and stretches out, just like it would if it were thrown.