Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Got a new Computer, is my video card any good?

ompgamingompgaming Member UncommonPosts: 188

I jsut got a new desktop computer.  The video card it is running is a:

NVIDIA GeForce GT 520

Ever since I got it, ME3 seems to run a bit choppy and when I play Planetside 2 (which I have only played on this new desktop) I can only pull down about 10 FPS if I am moviing.  I'm not a tech expert, is this video card not built for gaming? 

Above all else... never ever piss off the penguin.

Comments

• bonzoso21bonzoso21 Member UncommonPosts: 380
    That's the low-end card they put out with the 500 series in 2010, so yeah, it's not going to give you great results with more current games. I think that card retailed around $60 USD, and when it comes to graphics cards, there are usually a few different tiers of pricing in which you pretty much get what you pay for.
  • RidelynnRidelynn Member EpicPosts: 7,383

That video card is not really meant for gaming - or at least anything more demanding than Farmville.

• ompgamingompgaming Member UncommonPosts: 188
    Ok, thanks for the info guys.  Any recommendations for an affordable replacement I can put in?

• bonzoso21bonzoso21 Member UncommonPosts: 380
    Originally posted by ompgaming
    Ok, thanks for the info guys.  Any recommendations for an affordable replacement I can put in?