Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New to MMORPG's!!

Hi there,

I am new to MMORPG's but my brother has just given me a brief overview of what the aim is, and I have to admit he got me really interested. My interest has been so great that I found this site, registered, and now would be really grateful if someone could tell me how I can take my new found interest further and actually get involved too. Any hints, material to read, recommendations of games?

Thanks for taking the time out to read my post, and I am grateful to anyone who replies to me :)

Atif Farooq

Comments

• DisastormDisastorm Member Posts: 318
    right now all the games out are pretty much crap in my opinion, but in the future look out for Final Fantasy XI, Lineage2, and, my favorite, Ultima X.

• atif_farooqatif_farooq Member Posts: 3

Is there a game out there that I could try in the short term to try and get in to the genre so that I am prepared for one of the games that you have recommended?

• sleepyguyftlsleepyguyftl Member Posts: 648

Earth and Beyond was a fun one.

The only game I have really enjoyed is Earth and Beyond. A tale in the Desert was a close second (lack of players caused me to quit). Tried Rubies of Evertide, Linage, Dark age of Camelot, and Anarchy Online. Liked none of them.

• RiotgirlRiotgirl Member UncommonPosts: 520

First of all, you need to provide some information in order for us to assist you in finding a game that you like.

A quick synopsis:

The MMOG (I refuse to use MMORPG) market is maturing and changing as the next generation of MMOG's are either in beta or are being released. What this means is that quite a number of the current MMOG's are perhaps not suitable for beginners i.e. EQ - most newbie zones are empty by all accounts (real shame - I loved EQ back in the day), UO is no longer actively supported, etc.

There are a whole raft of MMOG's either in beta or just released: