Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

This game will bleed more of my time than WoW ever did.

AbcynthAbcynth Member UncommonPosts: 60

Let me start by saying that I am a veteran of World of Warcraft.  I spent the better part of 5 years enthralled with that game.  The sheer enormity of the lands, the lack of load times between areas, and the amount of things to do was enough to hold my attention for years, like I am sure many others.  I ran the gamut of what WoW had to offer, from PvE to Raiding at all hours of the night (I used to raid with a group from Europe because they raided in the morning and that was basically the only time I could play).  Setting my alarm for 3 AM leaving just enough time to brew a cup of coffee before burning 6 hrs in Zul Gurub healing non-stop.  The amount of time I lost to WoW was incredible.

But I always felt the need to burn through the levels, swallow up content, never really reading any quest text, just went from one objective to the next, always looking for the next piece of better gear.  I never paid much attention to the world around me, never stopped to take in the sights, just ran as fast and as hard as I could from one quest hub to the next and levelled as fast as I could.  And while it was a fun ride, it wasn't as rewarding as it could have been.  But I really had nothing to compare it to since WoW was my first real MMO.

Then GuildWars 2 came along and I was hooked from the original teaser videos.  The world looked gorgeous!  I watched that first panel from the ArenaNet folks where they talked about the game and was amazed at the depth and thought that went into it.  I was ready to preorder with every tidbit that they released.  And playing through the betas just solidified what I already knew, this was the one for me.