Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

FRAPs and other Video Recording Software

DragimDragim Member UncommonPosts: 867

Hey all, I have always been interested in recording in-game footage of my exploits (not literally exploiting) and have recently looked into fraps.

I have been playing planetside, and was wanting to show some of the bigger, more fun battles I have been involved in, but upon recording, I notice that these recordings take up a massive amount of space.

Granted---I have a 2 TB drive my movies are being saved on, but an 8 minute FRAPs video is like 4 gigs?

I am new to the whole video recording thing, so is this normal for an 8 minute video?  I would assume so, since well, that's what my computer tells me, but still found it odd that the size of the 8 minute movie was so large.

I was just thinking about movies that you stream, like Zune of Netflix off of my xbox and some are about 3 gigs, for an entire movie.

Granted--I am sure they use sophisticated technology and perhaps change the type of file from (just a random example) a JPG to a VFI.  (I understand these aren't proper terms for movies and JPG is a picture thing)

----------------------------

So is it just FRAPs that makes the movies large, or is there a way for me to convert them to take up less space?  Also-- when uploading to youtube, if the size is like 8gigs, will youtube allow uploads that big?

I suppose I can just check myself later, but was just curious.

I am entitled to my opinions, misspellings, and grammatical errors.

Comments

• AerowynAerowyn Member Posts: 7,928

Dxtory is best I found you can set tons of differn't encoding codecs and play with all the settings you want for in-game recording. Fraps sucks imho for video recording since you will have to re-encode the video afterwards anyway.