Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

So how long till WoW adopts a F2P model?

Enok4TwunniEnok4Twunni Member Posts: 207

I just started playing Aion again because it went F2P. Made me wonder when and if WoW will ever go that route. Thoughts?

Comments

• Gabby-airGabby-air Member UncommonPosts: 3,440

Doubt anytime soon, they still have an extremely large subscriber base but if they were to go f2p...oh boy, I can see 100s of other f2p titles shutting down and the whole MMO landscape getting a big shake. 

• hcoelhohcoelho Member UncommonPosts: 529

Not until Titan comes out i guess.

Also, they had 1mil  Annual Passes made, so i read. Its quite a commitment from a shitload of people, enough to keep the game running with  subs for a long time.

• maskmurdamaskmurda Member UncommonPosts: 80

Probably never. They make so much money it's stupid. Even if their subs fall below 5 mil, hell that is a rediculous amount of money they are making. if over the pass 6 years the game has been out, it cost over 300 mil to maintain(including paying employees and maintinance, with cost dropping for parts and servers it won't be that big of an increase in cost maybe 400-500mil including developement and maybe 200mil-ish in marketing) if their peek was 13mil+ subs for 5 of those years with subsequent 10-12mil subs for the fallowing years, my math maybe off but I'm calculating about a 1.5 billion dollars + with box sales for expansions. If they go f2p it will be for sh*ts and giggles.

• MephsterMephster Member Posts: 1,188

Never, they will suck every penny out of the franchise even after Titan is released.

Grim Dawn, the next great action rpg!

http://www.grimdawn.com/

• CujoSWAoACujoSWAoA Member UncommonPosts: 1,781

How long until Ultima Online goes free to play?

• Eir_SEir_S Member UncommonPosts: 4,440