Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Some questions about roleplaying

Hi all! I've been playing mmorpg's since 2002 but never got into roleplaying. So I have a few questions regarding this subgenre of mmorpg's. I am asking about games in general, but notable differences may occur in different games which is interesting as well. Anyway, here are my questions:

1- how does it generally work in mmorpg's, not looking at specific games?

2- is roleplaying as addictive as "normal" playing, or less or more? (either in a bad/good way or neutral)

3- are you much tied to events and the time you are playing, or is/can it be quite free?

4- are friendships in rp environments closer?

5- what can you learn from it? I can imagine that playing a role can be quite good for your personality, for example.

Thank you for your time :)

-Mike

Comments

• AiriannaSAiriannaS Member Posts: 6

its hard, need a guild that likes to role play together, u wont get an entire server to do this

• whisperwyndwhisperwynd Member UncommonPosts: 1,668

Originally posted by Powermike

It works how you want it to work, it's all about imagination. If you have others with which to RP then you have the tools in your head.

2- is roleplaying as addictive as "normal" playing, or less or more? (either in a bad/good way or neutral)

That all depends on whether you can get into it or not. If you're forced into by a guild or something, then it might not be addictive because you may not be enjoying yourself.

3- are you much tied to events and the time you are playing, or is/can it be quite free?

It is free, the events are what you make of it, you can create your own or go with what the game offers. It's up to you really. All depends on what you are striving for.

Depends on the people, RP does not make better friendships, just like-minded players that you can have fun with.