Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Was I too hard on SWTOR?

I've made a lot of posts about SWTOR over the last couple of months. Pretty much all of them have been negative and as such I have been labelled a "hater" by some.

So with the experience of SWTOR beta weekends and 2 months of gameplay behind me, I started playing the TERA beta.

I've got up to level 12 as an archer on TERA and in some ways it's very similar to SWTOR with regards to linear questing. I did enjoy levelling up in SWTOR and I'm enjoying TERA in the same way.

Do I miss the voiceovers? Not at all but that's a personal opinion.

The difference playing TERA over SWTOR is quite simply the polish at this point in time.

I have yet to come across a single bug. Yes it's early days, but SWTOR was full of them, not only in beta but also 2 months into release.

Other than bugs, the game plays very nicely on my computer at full graphics settings, which are arguably far superior to the graphics in SWTOR where it was barely playable at the lowest settings.

TERA appears to have the polish I admired in RIFT and on that basis I say "No, I wasn't too hard on SWTOR".

Polish CAN be achieved in an MMO and there's no excuse for releasing poorly coded and poorly performing games to us anymore.

The message we need to be sending out to game publishers now is that they need to try harder or suffer the wrath of disgruntled customers.

Comments

• Laughing-manLaughing-man Member RarePosts: 3,654

obligatory TERA has been out for a year in Korea and has had a year to be polished past its release post.

• KholeKhole Member CommonPosts: 136

TItle of post is rather confusing.

Tera's leveing is in no way better than swtor. In swtor i could stand to level to 50. In Tera the quests become so redundant you want to stop playing after you hit 20.

I didn't just play in beta either i've been playing korean months before beta even came out.