Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

General: From MUD to MMO

Comments

• PentharianPentharian Member Posts: 2

I will unashamedly identify myself as a volunteer admin on Achaea so there's no accusations of it otherwise. 

Khaeros has written that combat systems are required and should be bannable, two wide-sweeping accusations.

I have been playing Achaea for nearly 10 years now, working my way from a complete newbie to MUDs to a guild leader, city leader, and eventually a god/Admin. In that entire time, I have never had any kind of combat system, and never felt that it was required. There are also plenty of people who will help you create your own for free if you feel you need one because you want to be involved in combat. Yes, paying for a system will get you ahead faster, but then isn't that true for just about any game out there?

In some games, no automation of any kind is allowed. In IRE games, there is. It's simply a matter of preference, and I don't fault anyone for feeling they'd like to play in a game that allows or doesn't allow triggers. 

I've put in well over 300 days of non-afk play time in Achaea since 2002, and I don't regret any of it. I've never paid a cent for it, neither to the players for a system, nor to IRE for credits. 

Achaea is a game where if you wish to have fun by roleplaying, you can do so. Not every other player is going to facilitate it necessarily, but this is true of any game. You will find a group of people who want to roleplay and/or socialize with you, and with them I can almost guarantee that you will have fun.