Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Amazing game, wish I had tried it sooner.

I know this game had it share of problems at launch, but I had always been curious about it. Around the time it came out I just didnt have a good enough computer to run it, so I pretty much forgot all about it. I moved to another country and got out of any online gaming for awhile. I picked it up again and played EQ2 and LOTRO. LOTRO especially couldnt hold my interest for more than a couple weeks, played EQ2 for about 6 months. Then I rediscovered AOC and I couldnt believe how fun it is. Im a former SWG vet, and had pretty much given up on finding a replacement for that after that travesty. But AOC is honestly the best MMO Ive played since then, may even replace it as my favorite MMO.

I must say though that I play on the hardcore pvp blood and glory euro server. And maybe that playstyle just caters to me specifically, though I know it is not all around very popular. The game is fairly difficult at first (at least as MMO's go), I had to roll about 3 different characters before I got one I felt was competitive in both PVE and PVP. Once I got it right, I rolled a ranger and havent looked back. I wouldnt want to play this game as PVE only. That would make it very similar to a lot of other theme park garbage. There are issues with the game, I havent discovered anything major as yet, but my guildies have told me broken mechanics are still an issue, and I believe them. Another thing, when you get into a guild here you see that it has a really solid community. At least on euro servers, cant speak for American ones.

The questing and storyline are thus far top notch. I would say on par with LOTRO which is renowed for its PVE and quest writing. I havent done the crafting yet, apparently it isnt that useful but they're meant to revamp it soon, so looking forward to that.