Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Allods Port Forwarding: TCP or UDP

OSF8759OSF8759 Member Posts: 284

The ports to successfully play/update Allods Online are:

9326-9329

6980 (update server)

My question is, which ports are TCP and which UDP? Am I correct in assuming the 9xxx ports are TCP and the 6980 port is UDP?

Comments

• erandurerandur Member Posts: 727

Just guessing, but mmorpg's almost exclusively run on UDP (except for WoW, I'm sure they have their reasons). Websites etc. run on TCP, and downloading stuff usually comes from a normal web server. So I'd say the update server is TCP, the rest is UDP.

You know it, the best way to realize your dreams is waking up and start moving, never lose hope and always keep up.

• SilvrnirvashSilvrnirvash Member Posts: 1

i have a simple question. im new to porting forward. like really new. whats the IP address for the game? is it 101? or what?

• alterfenixalterfenix Member UncommonPosts: 370

Originally posted by erandur

Just guessing, but mmorpg's almost exclusively run on UDP (except for WoW, I'm sure they have their reasons). Websites etc. run on TCP, and downloading stuff usually comes from a normal web server. So I'd say the update server is TCP, the rest is UDP.

UDP provides no verification of packet's content to put it simple. Simply if you try to transfer data using UDP based protocol between two rooms in your home then transfer should be faster than it is in case of TCP as there is pretty much no error checking (which also consumes time).