Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Confusing rating system.

Hello, 

I'm new to mmorpg.com - also not very experienced at mmorpgs themselves. 

Theres something I don't like about mmorpg.com , the rating system.

There are tons of games which are rated from 7.0 to 8.0 ... sounds like all of those games are pretty good, ha ? I tried a few of them and i have to say that the few I tried were ... well ... one word , bad ! It's confusing for newbies like me. There are a view reviews from other users, but these reviews aren't helpful at all. The rating system isn't helpful too.

But what would be helpful ? Reviews from players who actually played this game longer then a few day's. It would take some time and work to write a good review, but it would be helpful. 

A review of the game and some informations about the player. That would be perfect.

Is this idea possible ?

PS: I'm looking for a new mmorpg - please visit my post in the LFG Forum.

http://www.mmorpg.com/discussion2.cfm/post/4683732/thread/338047#4683732

Thank you.

Comments

• Loke666Loke666 Member EpicPosts: 21,441

It is same on most sites and most magazines since the last 15 years or so. In the 80s games actually got scores like 2/10 and 15% in reviews but not anymore even if they suck as much.

The trick is to subtract 5 from the value and see it as out of 5 instead. It usually is spot on then.

• KarahandrasKarahandras Member UncommonPosts: 1,703

I have to agree with Loke666.  Most formal/official review now don't seem to be worth the time it takes to read them.