Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New Player: Question(s) about combat

xDayxxDayx Member Posts: 712

I started playing this last night and need some clarificiation on the combat system.

Here is what I experienced about the combat steps:

1)Target mob

2)Press desired skill

3)Click mob again to enact above skill specifying whether you want the AOE version or not and it casts.

So generally you are just adding another step in there(#3 to be specific). I read about combat previously with people saying its slower and more laid back. But I didnt know that was because of the extra mob click needed to cast.

I understand there may be a maybe a macro so that final click isnt neccesary but why not just have default be NON-AOE and if you want AOE you press CTRL or something when clicking the skill?

Sometimes in 3rd person mode when you are doing step 3 above I end up targetting myself and therefore not casting, where I then must switch to first person mode or move around so that I can pull off step 3.

So am I missing something here? If the answer is making a macro for each skill so that it will go off then so be it. I dont see the extra-click at this point as making combat more challenging or engaging.  I expected combat to be slower paced due to the mob HP or cast times, or the need for reactionary skills or CC.... and not because of an extra skill to get actions off.

Is this something thats possible to get used to and appreciate?

Comments

• TheFirst109TheFirst109 Member UncommonPosts: 182

Hmm I do think something is wrong there. I usually target the mob and then when I hit the ability it goes off. You can toggle aoe on and off (for spells that have the option) by pressing the Z key on your keyboard. I almost always have aoe off unless I'm fighting a group of weaker mobs.