Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Aion: It really is worth a shot

TolmosTolmos Member UncommonPosts: 141

I started playing Aion about 3 months ago or so. Originally, I avoided this game like the plague due to the talk of how overall grindy and awful it is to level. If there is anything I hate in an MMO, it is leveling. Crazy, I know, but I simply enjoy endgame more. So, when I got this game (because it was only $20), I wasn't expecting to stay past my 30 day free month.

Let me say, I was pleasantly surprised. First off: The leveling has been toned down BIGTIME. Quests now give massive amounts of XP. At the lower level (1-30) you can still get several levels a day, at the midrange levels (30-40) you can still come close to 2 a day (and even more than that if they are doing a double XP event or you have XP increasing amulets), and higher levels (40-50) you can, as far as I've seen, get about a level every few days. My highest level character is 44, so I won't say anything about end game. This is primarily for new players from a new player's perspective.

So far, I have leveled 4 classes to 30ish, one to 44 (trying to figure out which I like best). The game seems to keep interest well enough, rifts allow PvP against people my level (not that this always works out... sometimes and really quite often you WILL get ganked; but that's the general downside of open world PvP!) and instances are set up in such a way that most classes do actually have a purpose (at least early-mid game. Not sure end game) and can usually find a spot.