Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

linux? ubuntu?

cricket4002cricket4002 Member UncommonPosts: 16

i heard i could run this on linux but i cant even fully download the game client, i have enough space by a long shot.

for gaming linux is sucking so far, but  internet sux with window for some reason (on my computer) so i cant run it on that cause i ld every 15 to 30 minutes. any real advice would be loved!!! im out of ideas i love daoc cant live without it much longer image

Comments

• XexvXexv Member Posts: 308

I'm not an expert but I have messed around with different distros before and this is what I came up with after several years.

Run a dual boot installation with Windows 7 and your favourite distro, probably Ubuntu (or Kubuntu). It simply isn't worth the faff and hassle of forcing games onto your linux distro unless you really enjoy doing that for the challenge. Boot windows to game, boot linux to browse/work/misc.

• cricket4002cricket4002 Member UncommonPosts: 16

ooo thats a really good idea! my computers kinda old though, i dont know if  i could run windows 7,i could do xp but i wonder if id even have the space after putting xp on this computer to run daoc as well  i should just work on getting a new computer

have you ever had trouble with windows connecting to the internet ,my friend swears my internet problem stemmed from window s and when i put linux on it worked better but it could of  been  a virus.... wish i was more computer savy 

• XexvXexv Member Posts: 308

A virus or malware could well have been present on your previous windows install which may have affected your net access. Providing you're certain the internet issues weren't caused by 'physical' things and your ISP is reliable.