Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Best Endgame models

fansedefansede Member UncommonPosts: 960

Even though MMOS arent supposed to end. What games do you all think have the best "endgame" system. What game offers the best experience when you are accomplished the level cap?

Drawing from many of these forum threads - My guess is members here want a sandbox, but the casual masses don't mind grinds of raids. What about PVP? GW proponents might stake their claim here.

So If I was a future game designer - I would start my team working on the endgame first. What would be best model to reach and keep players?

Comments

• jpnolejpnole Member UncommonPosts: 1,698

Your post is in the wrong forum and should be under The Pub as you mention nothing about Rift.

• Crake_1Crake_1 Member Posts: 82

I think I will indeed stake a Guild Wars claim here, in regard to PvP. Obviously robust PvP should be a big part of any endgame, and I think that a very fair and level playing field should be part of that. GW1 emphasized player skill by giving PvP characters automatic access to max stats gear and all the skills/mods they had unlocked, and that was a great idea. Also, structure is a great thing. I know there are a lot of peolpe who love open world PvP, and even those who love it when ganking is possible, but I cannot disagree more. I like GW's arena formats. GW2 looks promising because they've maintained all of the same design philosophies, albeit with the details changed. Heck, their stated goal is for GW2 to become an e-sport, so you know it will be highly balanced and formatted to be fair and competitive. 

I should also mentioned that while I oppose open world PvP, I very much enjoy large format arena matches. GW1 had 12v12 Alliance Battles that were a lot of fun, and GW2 will have World vs. World vs. World with potnetially hundreds of players per side at any given time. I'm super excited for that.