Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

General: This is Endgame, My Friend

Comments

• SignusMSignusM Member Posts: 2,225

Originally posted by ichimarunico

SWG had the Corvette, I know for a fact that EQ had giant raid bosses, DAOC had endgame... this seems like an uninformed journalist, honestly. WoW did not invent endgame. WoW made it accessible to those who weren't hardcore enough for it (IE: Everyone) in previous titles.

Wha? No. WoW's endgame is far more alienating than most end game. It's end game is pretty much the same as EverQuests, and that is, bad.

DAoC's end game was balanced so well that anyone could jump into any raid, actually contribute something, and have a shot at the loot, without being in an "epic raider guild". And then there was RvR..

• RaventreeRaventree Member Posts: 456

I agree to a large extent with the premise of this article.  I have been playing MMOs for long hours for many years now and yet raiding has NEVER been my thing.  I poked my nose into it and what I saw was long waits for everyone to show up, followed by people judging you harshly on your gear and spec.  If anything was less than absolutely perfect you could expect ridicule and possibly being booted from the raid.  Once you make it past that you can expect long hours of tension filled dungeon crawling while you sweat over your damage output numbers.  If something goes wrong during the raid, and it often does, you can expect arguing, yelling, and a lot of cussing from people with the maturity level of a ten year old.  What is your reward for all of this work?  More of the same.  This is fun to people?  Not only that, but many guilds seriously have so many requirements that it becomes like a job.  A couple of my real life friends would even cancel get-togethers because their guild needed them for a raid and they would get in trouble if they missed it.  That is just ridiculous.