Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New Player First Impression

w4spl3gw4spl3g Member Posts: 60

I've been reading on and off about this game since it came out. Recently, I'm starting to fall out of love with Perpetuum (due to the hatred from DEVs of new players, even a few months old) and have been actively looking for another FFA PVP game and there are so fucking few on the market of course Darkfall was on the list.

I downloaded the client last night, registered for the trial, installed it today and have been playing for the last couple hours.

1.) The installer. I work in IT but seriously who distributes their installer in a .rar? I'm willing to bet that by itself has dozens (?) of potential players going "wtf is a rar file".

so I unpack the file in to a directory and what do I get? 2 Actual clients (EU and US versions, despite having picked a North American server before I even downloaded it) and a butt load of bzip2'd files (for those of you not familiar, it's a better version of zip).

Wait forever for the installer to launch.. install .. download 54 mb of patches AND THEN PATCH ALL 7 GB OF THE DATA INSTALLER WHAT THE FLYING MOTHERFUCKING HELL FOR SERIOUS??@#$??@#?!?!?

This whole process took the better part of an hour, that might not seem like a long time but after a 7 hour client download; it is.

PS. Does the volume really need to be maxed out for your epic installer orchestral score? and why can't I have 1920x1080 windowed mode? WHY?

Yes. The install is best defined as 'This makes dial-up look attractive'

2.) Load the game, create character .. it's basically Morrowind from 9 years ago with even fewer character creation options. Why do I have to have a 3 character minimum 'last name'? Why can't I change the crack-whore Alfar fem eyes? Anyway.

3.) Brace myself for the universally reviled UI ... and .. this doesn't look that bad, a bit generic and definitely dated but ..