Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Company Review: iBuyPower

Comments

• CaradaeCaradae Member Posts: 29

Originally posted by Zezda

Originally posted by Caradae

I have never had an issue with a generic power supply or name brand they both work the same and have the same life expectancy. The only problem I have every had when building a computer is the motherboard, a ciriut frying or a bad board all around. I once had a memoey stick catch on fire because the motherboard kept shorting out and I didn't know it.  But nothing to do with any power supplies. I hear them going out is a common occurance, but I have been using the same generic power supply, 450w for the last 4 yrs and have had NO issues!

With the headphone jack going out on you. It sound like an internal connection issue, a short circuit probably. Be careful with it, one day your computer may not reboot. 

I will keep in mind Cyberpower as an unreliable company, especially since they are about the same as iBuyPower. Also just beacuse you buy a computer through a third party ie: Newegg, doesn't mean it's better than buying from the company directly, it all ends up going to the same end company. You would think though that if you buy directly FROM the company you get better reliability then buying through a thrid party. Because after all you are going to the company directly and wanting exactly what you are paying for without any mix ups or problems.  

But that is just me....

I'm going to say this once and once only.

NEVER buy an unbranded power supply for your PC. Even if it is branded by a well known company CHECK for reviews. Fail to heed my warning and are playing with dice, my friend.

Here is a perfect example of what you could possible be getting yourself into by not taking proper care and choosing the correct power supply.

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story&reid=204