Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What happened to the "RP" in MMO-RP-G?

ChonkaChonka Member Posts: 27

I'm playing Guild Wars and yes it's a great game, almost perfect in a way, yet I still wonder about the Roleplaying aspects in a game.  Sinced I started playing MMORPGs years ago, I only saw real "Roleplaying" a few times in all of my history with the genre.  To me it discredits the purpose of the game and sometimes I should wonder if the term MMORPG should rather be dubbed MMOG.  And yes I see your point in that by Playing the game you are "taking a role". But real "roleplayers" know that this isn't what the creators had in mind in most cases.  I'll admit that I can't really talk, because I dont roleplay in any MMOs anymore.  I just hope that this aspect hasn't been lost for good.   Just remember-- Lets not let the n00b L33t "I pwn u" generation of players take over all the good content out there.....

Chonka Kimoto 70 Shaman (EQ I since beta) - Retired
Azuri Spiritweaver 26 Mystic / 13 Craftsman (EQ II) - Retired due to boredom
Azuri Jingizu W/N20 (Guild Wars)

Comments

• GumbyXGumbyX Member Posts: 42

Roleplaying is a nebulous word as it can be held to many different standards. Someone playing a computer game may be considered "softcore" to someone who play's pnp's. That same pnp'er could be considered softcore by someone who *shiver* does Live Action Role Playing.

Theoretically, if they made a Counterstrike with 1000's of players on each server, it could be considered an MMORPG.

• codecode Member Posts: 95
    rp became boring

• ChonkaChonka Member Posts: 27