Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How will the F2P trend influence the design of future P2P titles?

WhiteLanternWhiteLantern Member RarePosts: 3,309

So, there has been a ton of discussion lately about which P2P title will go F2P next. I've heard people talk about how such-and-such game (SWG most noteably, but I have no experience with it so I can't debate that) wouldn't be a good fit due to how the game was designed. I've seen talk about how CO had to restructure the way it's character creator works so that they would have something to charge for. There are other examples of games that are built in a way that going F2P will be a bit.....tricky. But that is not what I want to discuss.

Do you think that developers of upcoming P2P games will be influenced by the recent events and create an exit strategy to easily transition to F2P should the need arise? It seems like Turbine might have gotten lucky with it's game designs and how they were able to make the switch and I'm curious if other devs will take this into account.

I want a mmorpg where people have gone through misery, have gone through school stuff and actually have had sex even. -sagil

Comments

• GoronianGoronian Member Posts: 724

Oh absolutely. They won't stop, until they milk us dry. It will either be full F2P for most major titles from now on or P2P + cash shop in one way or another. And don't expect it to be "vanity only".

I hate WoW because it made my plush hamster kill himself, created twin clones of Hitler, punched Superboy Prime in reality, stared my dog down, spoiled my grandmother, assimilated me into the Borg, then made me into a real boy, just to make me a woman again.

• ArnstrongArnstrong Member Posts: 281

Originally posted by WhiteLantern