Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Controls, how much of the complaints is relevant and how much is laziness and lack of adaptibility o

MMO.MaverickMMO.Maverick Member CommonPosts: 7,619

I have a theory.

Back when I played EQ, I had to get used to a lot of new, different things regarding controls and gameplay within a MMO, it wasn't as easy as it is with themepark MMO's these days. The same applied to RTS games or FPS games the first times I started playing them, or other games with different controls and gameplay mechanics, it took some time to familiarise with them and to adapt to them.

A large part of the generation that was introduced into MMO gaming in the post-WoW era - with easy-mode gameplay as in WoW, Lotro and such - lacks those adaptive skills.

That's why you see so many complaints about the MMO's after WoW, where a lot of complaints and whining are about how a MMO misses or differs in features that WoW has. A lot of the MMO gamers are like some American tourists who when on holidays abroad still go to a McDonald's and Pizza Hut and do merely the guided tour excursions, instead of really getting to know the local population, culture and local cuisine.

UO, EQ, DAoC, FFXI, CoH and other pre-2004 definitely had a lot more flaws when they launched, but there was a lot less whining, and people playing them had a blast enjoying those games.

At the moment, I'm merely curious about FFXIV. I've looked at the flaws and complaints people posted and found most of them to be either whining or trivial: maybe it really is a problem for MMO gamers in the pampered post-2005 themepark era, but it's not something I'm concerned with. I've been MMO gaming longer and have had to adapt farther to play and enjoy several MMO's.

I'm aware that the controls setup has the primary focus for consoles, and that FFXIV is still beta.

What I would like to know is the following: