Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Adventure?

kharzemkharzem Member Posts: 5

Hello!

I've been playing MMO's for about 4 years now, and i've found that I love adventuring! When I play a game, I love to go dragon hunting- which entails spending 30 minutes hacking my way through a thick jungle, another 20 fighting my way into the dragon's lair, and then 10 minutes fighting the dragon. And, as a reward, getting a gleaming magical chest-plate.

Most games, however, are nothing like this. Every game that I can find is simply a grind. First you spend anywhere from 1 to 3 months leveling to the end-game, and then spending 3 to infinite months 'gearing up'. To me, going to kill a dragon or a lich with, oh, 50 other people, is NOT very exciting.

I want a game where you have epic battles with your friends battling the village's evil river troll, or even helping some villager fix his roof. In other words, I want a game that's immersive and realistic. So that even helping the kid collect eggs from the hen-house makes you feel useful and important

If anyone know's a game that's like this and, hopefully, is F2P (don't mind P2P though) please lemme know.

Comments

• rahj83rahj83 Member Posts: 77

Nothing really comes to mind. I would keep my eyes on Guild Wars 2 if I were you.

• kharzemkharzem Member Posts: 5

I should note that I don't want to LITERALLY spend an hour on a quest. I only mean that I want it to take more than, oh, 2 minutes and perhaps make me feel more important/useful to the storyline.

• eburneburn Member Posts: 740

That's the sandbox gaming experience everyone has been saying they want, but when a sandbox game comes around they sort of abandon the idea.

Ryzom looks good. It has a bad history but there's people who swear the customer support has improved dramatically. I'm a once bitten twice shy guy tho'.

A Tail in the Desert is pretty well recieved.