Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Gaming/College Laptop Recommendations

twstdstrangetwstdstrange Member Posts: 474

Hey, chums.

I've been scouring the web for a few days on the hunt for a new laptop.

I'll be using it for college this fall, and since my major is Game Design & Programming, I reckon I'll need a nice gaming system to assist me in my studies (and to play some nice new games on for once! I've been stuck with the same sytem for nearly ten years now!).

I've found three candidates I need some opinions on:

#1 - MSI-E7235 - http://www.amazon.com/MSI-E7235-295US-17-Inch-Laptop-Black/dp/B002Y1MUNS/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=pc&qid=1277619434&sr=1-3

This one seems good for the price, and has a nice 17'' screen (I woud prefer a nice large screen).

#2 - Asus N61JV - http://www.amazon.com/N61JV-X2-16-Inch-Versatile-Entertainment-Laptop/dp/B00352LQYO/ref=dp_cp_ob_pc_title_0

Also seems like a great deal.

#3 - Asus K72JR - http://www.xoticpc.com/asus-k72jra1-p-2754.html

17'' Screen. Seems good.

I know I haven't really gone into technical specifics, but I'm sure each of these will do what I need them to do.

I just needed some extra feedback.

Other system recommendations are, of course, welcome! :3

Thanks guys.

Also, a nice set of recommendations on software that I should get for my upcoming system.

Anything useful and cool.

Comments

• mcvfxxmcvfxx Member UncommonPosts: 59

Hi,

lets make few comments on your choices. If you insist that you wanna play some reasonable games on it, you have to go and choose best graphics card you can afford. Most of graphics cards in nowadays laptops perform quite poorly game wise and you have to do your choice very carefully. It is very typical that good graphic card means there will be also good CPU. Now, the question is, how do you know which VGA is strong enough to bear some games? There is a site