Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

need advice on a pc build

smile9999smile9999 Member Posts: 57

this is my first build on own, so I need some advice from professionals like you, I have already set my mind on a build that I like but I think it needs some tweaking,

motherboard:  Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R

processor:       Intel® Core™ i7-920 2.66GHz Processor

video card:      Gigabyte Radeon HD 5770 1GB DDR5

RAM:               OCZ AMD Black Edition Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 MHZ

HDD:                Western Digital (WD) Caviar 1TB 7200RPM SATA

PSU:                OCZ StealthXStream 600W powersupply

case:               Cooler Master Elite 332 case

I think that the processor is over the top and I want to replace it and just put a Intel® Core 2 Duo 3GHz 6MB (e8400)  , and with the additional money replace my card with a SAPPHIRE HD5850 RADEON 1GB DDR5, what do you think?

They cripple the bird's wing, and then condemn it for not flying as fast as they.Malcolm X

Comments

• pye088jpye088j Member Posts: 228

You´ll certainly get a larger difference with a 5850 then a 5770 much more so then the difference in processor units. Combine that with the fact that not many, if any, games are putting multiple cpu cores to good use the answer should be quite clear.

My 2 cents atleast.

All statements I make is from my point of view unless stated otherwise.

• CatamountCatamount Member Posts: 773

If this is a gaming build, then your head is in the right place, to be sure (nice stuff), but the proportions are way out of whack. The GPU setup should be the most expensive component of a build, and certainly shouldn't cost less than the CPU. As a rule of thumb, having the GPU(s) cost twice what the GPU does, or cost maybe ~40% of your funding usually creates the correct balance of spending for maximum performance.