Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Should I even make an MMORPG if the graphics are not great?

To catch you up to speed and avoid any flamming I will give you the short story up to this point,

Over 5 years ago I wanted to make my own mmorpg... well unlike most others I never gave up, in fact I'm now a programmer!  Even have a few years of college-level courses done and I'm an editor for a popular developer site.

So I've got the programming part up to speed... I even created my own little server (can find more info about this with my latest blog post)

Now I have 6 months of nothing but 24/7 freetime!!  My goal in these 6 months is to get a working beta out for an mmo.  My other goal is to create a PROFITABLE game that will hopefully pay for my college.

Now I'm no artist (im a programmer)  and I can not hire one... so in short the only graphics I can really draw are 2d childish graphics,  as for 3D I can model but I can not texture worth a darn and I've never animated.

What I'm getting at is the simple fact I want to make an mmo and I do want to make money and I CAN produce a basic mmo within 6 months (so please don't flame me about how long an mmorpg takes...)

Now I started creating my own kids chat/virtual world from scratch and got pretty darn far in just one month of development!!  but my heart isn't really with it... I'm losing my drive to make the game... I want to make an mmorpg!

Now after much research over the span of years I'm confident in saying that Realmcrafter is MY best choice for SPEEDY development of a 3d mmorpg (I've had the engine since it first came out).

One of the major 'down falls' to RC is the lack of polish visually, the engine doesnt look the best and duoed with my really bad artist skills it will make for one hellish looking game.