Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Crafting and Economy in WoW

I'm thinking about buying the game but I've been wondering what the crafting and economic system in the game are like? I'm a veteran of E&B (RIP), EVE and SWG, 3 pretty different economical structures, so as to keep matters simple can anyone tell me which of those 3 games WoW's economy is most similar to? Is it just put it up for auction and wait? or Can you open a shop-front and post advertisements around towns? or do you just sell it to NPC vendors for set prices? Also is the crafting just like, get 2 pieces of hide and you get a shoe, or is it you need specific types of hides to make specific shoes, and there are diverse levels of quality to the finished product?

Yeah I know this was a pretty lengthy question but some help would be greatly appreciated, and please don't just say "Just go out and buy it"

Thanks in advance

life is like a yo-yo it has its ups and downs, but my yo-yo fell on the ground

Comments

• flyngtrmptflyngtrmpt Member Posts: 227

Ok, I don't know which one it compares to because I never played the other games. Now you can sit in the trade channel in one of the towns and tell people what you're selling until someone responds. A lot of people however have been using the auction method. Put it up in the auction and the money will be mailed to you when it gets sold. You can sell it to NPCs at set prices and sometimes thats the quickest option. You do need specific hides to make specific shoes, and there will be different types of thread and all that kind of stuff in order to make specific items. You get recipies for different items and they have set qualities and require specific ingredients. It makes sense that the higher lvl recipies yield higher quality items.

Hope that answers most of your question.

~Flyngtrmpt

Koglar - Tauren Shaman - Bloodhoof Server - US EAST - WoW