Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

General: Sanya Weathers: Social Media and MMOs

In this week's edition of the MMO Underbelly, Sanya Weathers talks about how games do and should use social media in conjunction with their MMOs.

Sanya Weathers

In addition to my column here at MMORPG, the website, I’m also a writer/consultant for MMORPGs, the industry. Listen, when you can’t relocate for any reason, and you live a million miles away from all of the established MMO centers, you scratch together a living by being very, very flexible. As I like to tell newcomers, you want to be really flexible, but not so flexible that you can get your head up your posterior. A community person with that much flexibility is not helpful to the customers. Anyway, my main gig at the moment is for one of the new wave of MMOs – a web-based non-fantasy casual game. One of my daily tasks is updating the Facebook and Twitter feeds for this product.

Read it all here.

Dana Massey
Formerly of MMORPG.com
Currently Lead Designer for Bit Trap Studios

Comments

• GrymGrym Member UncommonPosts: 301

Interesting. I knew a lot of information was being passed around out there in the "ether" but didn't truly appreciate how it could be used to actually generate an income. Too bad I'm so lazy or I would actually try this and give up my life of crime.

(My son speaking to his Japanese Grandmother) " Sorry Obaba, I don't speak Japanese, I only speak human."

• shavashava Member UncommonPosts: 324

Aion has also been making sincere use of Twitter.  The community manager for NA is @aion_ayase and is the hub for a whole community of us who keep a column search for "#aion" up in our Twitter clients.  This is also a context for passing news, recruiting to legions (guilds), debating rumors, and so on -- and Twitter is more popular with the over 35 gamers, if gamer demographics are anything like general Facebook/Twitter demographics.