Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

XP ??bit

Howler54Howler54 Member UncommonPosts: 133

Hey guys.

I'm buying a new computer , and getting one with a memory on 4GB. It says that I need 64bit OS to take full advantage of the 4GB memory. I'm going to use my  XPprofessional OS, how do I know if it's 32- or 64bits ?

Thanks

Comments

• CleffyCleffy Member RarePosts: 6,412

If its XP 64-bit it would say so. Also you would notice it because most applications won't work. I highly doubt your version is 64-bit.

• jaxsjesterjaxsjester Member Posts: 5

Do not waste your money on XP 64-bit. Get vista if anything

• JosexphJosexph Member Posts: 121

Actually, 64bit will run mostly anything you throw at it, ive been running it for about 2 years now (vista though). Benchmarks show that it is capable of shorter load times, much more cleaner proformance and etc...

But to know exactly what copy your running, click start > run > type in "dxdiag", then look where it says operating system and there ya go.

And jaxsjester, vista also has a 64bit os...fail

• XasapisXasapis Member RarePosts: 6,337

There is little point buying vista with win7 so close before launch. In terms of 64bit over 32bit, the 64bit is always a better choice.

• CleffyCleffy Member RarePosts: 6,412

64-bit vista is different. Vista supports Virtualization through OS, so making 32-bit applications operate in a virtual 32-bit environment isn't a problem.

• Howler54Howler54 Member UncommonPosts: 133

Okay cool, thanks guys. Think I'll use my 32bit OS until Win 7 comes out.

• jaxsjesterjaxsjester Member Posts: 5

Wise choice imo, not that I have a problem with 64-bit. Just had too many experiences with it. Take the lesser of two evils if you can't afford a mac, lol

• GruntyGrunty Member EpicPosts: 8,657