Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

So the Beta

iank240iank240 Member Posts: 170

I was lucky enough to pre-order the standard edition on Steam here in the UK.

From installing, I found it odd that Steam installed the Aion NA version so I had to reinstall with the European version before I got started but I dont mind.

I started playing Friday night on the opening of the beta this weekend and I must say, from what I have seen, I am impressed.  The customisation has been well mentioned in this forum and many others and I spent about 10 mins creating my female Elyos mage.  Something to replace my lvl 80 WoW mage :)

So entering the game the quest structure was very good.  The map is one of the best  I have seen in an MMO.  All the flashy effects work nicely.  The only thing I found was with all the animations going on, the warriors and scouts look a little idle in combat between echanging blows.  Seemed a little odd to me but of course it is beta.

Walking around, you can see people who are creating tiny characters, probably the pvpers getting ready.  I see a few  "legions" appear here and there and the cut scenes from completing certain missions are fresh and cut up the grinding a bit.

The mage was a bit boring between levels 7 to 9.  I just found the constant round robin of the same spells a bit laboursome but the music and scenery make up for it.