Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

The Agency: A Day in the Life of an Agency Intern, 4

StraddenStradden Managing EditorMember CommonPosts: 6,696

When she originally won an internship at SOE's The Agency through the Gamers in Real Life program, Julia Brasil had no idea that MMORPG.com would be tracking her progress, but that's exactly what our own Carolyn Koh is doing, checking in with the new developer on a regular basis. Today is part four.

MMORPG.com:

What did you think this internship would encompass before you started working for SOE Seattle?

Julia Brasil:

To be honest, I had heard plenty of stories from colleagues about their internships, a few of which were quite intimidating. Some joked that they did little more than babysit computers and refill staplers. So when I started as an intern I expected to be doing small errands around the studio or watching over the shoulders of the real professionals as they went about their work.

Read A Day in the Life of an Agency Intern, 4

Cheers,
Jon Wood
Managing Editor
MMORPG.com

Comments

• eric_w66eric_w66 Member UncommonPosts: 1,006

As a long time programmer/developer (of business apps sadly, not games), I can say that an internship will probably tell you two things about programming/developing (and probably most jobs):

1) Will you actually LIKE doing it?

2) It shows you that school is nothing compared to reality.

I remember one of the interns I had who said that he did "More work on his first day (with us) than his entire school career" (He went to a business school specialized for programming). I had to tell him "Forget everything you've learned at school.... this is the really real world now."

In theory, the theoretical world and the real world are one and the same... in reality, they almost never touch....

• DarwaDarwa Member UncommonPosts: 2,181
    Originally posted by eric_w66