Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Economy and new system specs. for games

Background info:

I am a graduating student who lives in chicago and these are observations from this geographic location.

Observation:

99% of people who I know who play wow, out of about a few hundred that I have met in the last five to six years, cannot play a game that requires more system resources than wow.

Analysis:

Statistically using  Z chart, this would mean that in the midwest 95% of players cannot afford better gaming rigs.

Question?

How is a company going to turn a profit in this market if it needs 200,000 subscribers to break even, as I've heard mnetioned before.....witht hese figures...it is impossible unless they are aiming at other global markets like the asian market or in greece, where kids who don't even own computers play at cafe's. It's impossible.

Prognosis: Any game comming out in the near future in the U.s. with higher specs than wow, will not succeed, and no people do not buy new computers every year...the average is every seven to ten years, unless they are getting some sort of money from work or school or scholarships. My dad is a Doctor, and he cannot afford to buy a computer right now because of rising gas prices college tuition and a slumping economy. I have been working for a year now and make about 30 grand a year. I cannot afford to pay for a new computer because of my rent and college debt. So how are people, who are not in the top 5 percent of the wealthy, going to play these games? They can't, and blizzard has researched the demographics and that is the answer to why they do so well...simply because they have common sense.

Comments

• I think your stats are a bit off.  There are a lot more people than that who have the means to play games with specs greater than WoW's.