Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

After 5 months of playing this "chat room with legs"...

killerwigkillerwig Member UncommonPosts: 236

Weird review alert...

A chat room with legs. That's what I used to call Second Life (SL) in the beginning. I started playing because the SATA port on the back of my hard drive snapped off, and I was left with a poxy 20GB drive and nowhere to go. I'd seen the virtual world documentaries and heard about the very real possibilities of making real money in Second Life. I had nothing better to do and needed an online fix of some sort. So I thought... "what the hell".

Downloaded. Installed. Newby Island.

It took me just a few minutes to realise that everyone could fly - no skilling up or grinding required. I also learned pretty quick that I could teleport anywhere on the "Grid". So super powers right from the start. Nice.

I was on a mission to make money. That was my sole motivation for picking up this game (if you can call it that). So I set about learning how to use what I already knew to make a bit of money in the game. But first, I decided to explore every freebies place I could find and filled my inventory with mostly junk - but quite a few gems too, along the way. The LAG was totally horrendous in these places though - in fact, LAG is a fact of (second) life in this game. Rather masochistically though, you get used to it. The LAG almost becomes invisible. Burnt toast. ;)

I then decided to rob the hell out of these online survey machines called "HippiePay" that pay you in Linden dollars for providing useless and false information . Now a lot of people said they don't work for them, but damn - they did for me. Around L$800 (about $3 usd) in 1 hour, in fact.