Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

The Veteran/Rookie Disparity

Myzery78Myzery78 Member Posts: 15

I can honestly say I've never had so much fun in an mmorpg as I did when I started playing EVE back in 2003. It was a truly unique experience, one that the developers of EVE should be commended for. over time though, one of EVEs biggest selling points has shown it self to be a fundamental flaw. Im referring of course, to the EVE skill training system. The skill training system in EVE was designed to remove the level grind and to allow casual players to remain on par with hardcore players, and in that respect it initially did an impressive job. The skill system however, can be quite unforgiving. If you decide to change the focus of your character from say, gallente ships to caldari, you have what are essentially wasted skill points. If you decide to go from production to combat, you have wasted skill points. Now thats not to say in either example that you couldnt continue to make use of those skills, but if you decide you'd rather focus on a different aspect of EVE, you have skill points, and thus time invested, giving you little/no benefit. On an even more basic level though, if you trained any skills before your learning skills, you have what is essentially wasted time.