Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Awesome new chapters, but what is holding SWG really back?

someforumguysomeforumguy Member RarePosts: 4,088

I've been playing SWG for about 6 months now. I really like Beast Mastery and also the upcoming chapter 7 features. Played on TCPrime to get an idea and noticed that even with the collections that the devs really put thought in where to put them. New players will find their first items in a natural way on the Legacy quest route. SWG is also one of the few games left that gives you a sandbox feeling. Build your city etc. This is all very promising, BUT....

After 6 months I also notice how some persistant bugs (gamebreaking for me) in PVE combat wont get removed (no words from devs but only excuses from vets who claim that its the mess from a different dev team and that they cant be fixed easily):

PVE Combat

- 'Can't see target' msg if your target sets a foot behind a pebble. No biggie. Works both ways line of sight, you think. Not in SWG though, the mob keeps shooting you while you can't.

- Stuck mobs who are getting back to their spawning point. You try to attack them where they are stuck to get tht 'cant see target' msg again. Oh well, next group then. You attack and meanwhile that stuck group gets lose and starts attacking you too!!

- Free aiming mode! Wow, finally a hybrid fps MMO. Yeah right. Use free aiming mode and you keep targetting(and selecting) chairs, tables your own droideka which decides to stand into mobs for a change. Or even when the droideka is just standing next to you with its screenwide targetting rectangle.

You soon realise that most players are using auto aim (locking target) and a lot of the times auto repeating attack too. Buttonmashing fest ftw! Free aiming is gimping yourself , try to target one of those 4 mobs that stand inside your character for example.