Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Lag / Ping times

ginettiginetti Member, Newbie CommonPosts: 301

Hi, i'm on a 1500 set up and i just started playing anarchy online, taking advantage of the free base game.

I've tried both servers and find that after i kill a mob, there's like 2 - 3 seconds before the game gives me xp for it.

Is my lag that bad or is that just the game system?

Either way, its a fun game, albiet with a steep learning curve, but i dont mind that.

But just wondering why such the harsh lag.

I'm located in australia, and downloaded the file at a speed of 650kbp per second

----
MMORPG's I've Played: World of Warcraft: 10/10 - Rappelz: 7/10 - Ragnarok Online: 8/10 - DnD Online: 2/10 - Runescape: 6/10 - LotR Online: 5/10 - Anarchy Online: 7/10 - CoV: 8/10 - Rohan Online: 8/10 - Guild Wars: 7/10 - Flyff: 8/10 - Warhammer Online: 8/10

My HARDCORE Story

Comments

• JelloB2000JelloB2000 Member CommonPosts: 1,848

Originally posted by ginetti
    (...)
    I'm located in australia, and downloaded the file at a speed of 650kbp per second

Wikipedia has a good article explaining lag which you are experiencing. Your bandwidth doesn't mater, its the physical distance between you & the server. (Although the server could be responding slow & that is seen also as "lag" for the user).
  • KordeshKordesh Member Posts: 1,715

Happens to me as well. In fact, it's done that ever since the game began as far as I can remember. I think it has something to do with the client rather than latency especially since it never really gets any worse or better.

Bans a perma, but so are sigs in necro posts.

EAT ME MMORPG.com!

• norvaknorvak Member UncommonPosts: 53

AO has always been laggy.  Ive played alot of MMOs, but AO in its primetime was an awesome game.  I still love it, and play it every now and again.

AO2 PLZ!!!!!!!

• jerryk72jerryk72 Member Posts: 10