Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New player need help (very new player lol)

Hey guys,

I convinced myself to instal SWG, but when it was all done and the launcher did its thing with the updates, it stops and that's it. How to I play? LOL. I have a station account, the game is registered using the "register expansion" button.

At the top of the launcher the character select is unavailable. The updating thing is blue all around but is greyed out and below it says Download complete.

I have never used SOE before and this Station account was a trial with Vanguard, but now it has a 1 month paid on it so its not money I think.

HELP!!!! 

Mark E. Cooper
AKA Tohrment
Proud member of Damned Souls since 2007.
http://www.damnedsouls.eu

Comments

• DarthMaulUKDarthMaulUK Member Posts: 296

The game is still probably downloading all the patches. Expect it to take a good 16-20 hours. Once all installed, the PLAY button will highlight and away you go! If it has downloaded everything, do a re-scan .

get your 7 day FREE sub to SWTOR
    http://www.swtor.com/r/7DDKjQ

• impulsebooksimpulsebooks Member Posts: 561

Thanks, at least I know there is supposed to be a play button LOL. I tried all the buttons and wndows open saying srver errors, even for the online manual. I think I have found what was holding things up though. My OS is Vista 64. I just restarted the launcher using "Run as Administrator" and it has started downloading more stuff.

Says 1 hour 2 mins to go 

Mark E. Cooper
    AKA Tohrment

• ObraikObraik Member, Newbie CommonPosts: 7,261

Yep, with Vista everytime there's a patch you will need to run Launchpad in Admin mode. This is because Vista doesn't let "legacy" software write to the Program Files directory without being in admin mode. The game works with Vista though, just as well as any other game on Vista (ie. not as well as it would on XP :P)

• dongindongin Member Posts: 13