Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Conjunctions and monsterplay

I've been playing MMORPGs for 7 years and hit AC, AC2, DAoC, AO, WoW, CoH etc in the process, for background.

Gameplay:

I've heard a lot of people saying it's kind of bland.. well in the first few levels it is quite bland, but that changes a lot as you level up. At 22 as a burglar, I have 2 bars full of skills that I use pretty frequently. I still only use maybe a few more than I would on WoW, but an important difference in gameplay for me that I rarely hear mentioned would be:

Conjunctions. As mentioned, I play a burglar, and this is something that is unique to the class (in the sense that they can happen randomly, but burglars can perform them on demand). It brings up a panel with 4 circle- red/yellow/blue/green (as pictured: i16.tinypic.com/2mqjhbm.jpg)

Red is direct damage, yellow is damage over time, blue is power renew and green is morale renew. The system at lower levels is pretty basic. Everyone hammers yellow if it's over 50%, red if under, and green or blue if needed. However, if you want, you can try to perform moves like "the wheel" which end up with results far surpassing the simpler ones, which is done as such:

Person 1: Blue

Person 2: Red

Person 3: Green

Person 4: Yellow

Person 5: Blue

Person 6: Red

This all takes quite a bit of coordination to start with, but when these combinations get pulled off, it's worth it. Here's a screenshot of a simple red/yellow combination (with the animation):

i18.tinypic.com/4fu9jlc.jpg

It makes grouping a little more interesting than tank and spank, even at the lower levels.