Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Rate/Help my PC Build

Please critique this system for me...this is my first time building a machine and I will be using it mainly for mmorpg's and some PhotoShop CS2 stuff.  I would also like to be able to do some video editing.

I am only going to list the components that I am unsure or want some advice on:

Processor:  Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 Conroe 1.86GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80557E6300 - $187

Mobo:   EVGA 122-CK-NF68-TR LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - $230

Graphics Card:  EVGA 640-P2-N821-AR GeForce 8800GTS 640MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card -$389

Memory:   CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - $218

These are the core components...I will probably purchase a 22" widescreen viewsonic that i found online for under $300 as well.  I know i'll probably be looking at a 600w power supply for this.

How's it look??

Comments

• MeonMeon Member Posts: 993

I think the processor will need to improve if you want to run newer games (i'm guessing you'll need atleast 2.8 GHz).

• AnagethAnageth Member Posts: 2,217
    Originally posted by beckettgame

I will probably purchase a 22" widescreen viewsonic that i found online for under $300 as well. 

22inch, for under $300? Can you post a link please? I guess I got ripped off...

No longer visiting MMORPG.com.

• MeonMeon Member Posts: 993

Originally posted by Anageth
    I will probably purchase a 22" widescreen viewsonic that i found online for under $300 as well.

Prices in UK and Europe are up for PC monitors compared to the US

• beckettgamebeckettgame Member Posts: 12
    Link to monitors....several here for <$300 for a 22"  widescreen; 5ms; DVI/HDMI....all the good stuff

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.asp?N=2010190020+1309822582&Submit=ENE&SubCategory=20
    Originally posted by Meon