Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Tweak this! Tweak that!

I started playing Vanguard at prerelease and Im having a lot of fun with it. The thing that bugs me however is the performance. I do understand that with my computerspecs it is my risk to take (see below), but why does the freaking game start default at almost the highest settings? It clearly doesnt check my computerspecs with starting up the first time.

But what is even worse, is that I have to make changes in vgclient.ini to get better performance! Why the hell are those options not in the game?!

In my case I discovered that my onboard sounddevice was the performance clog. Turning it off made my 5fps in town go up to 20fps! Outside town I already had 20+fps and turning sound on or off only made 5fps difference. If onl y I would be able to turn off the seperate soundchannels (environmental, combat, footsteps, voices etc) instead of turning all on or off, then it would be at least efficient.

My setup:

A64 3000+

1Gb memory (is going to 2Gb soon)

nvidia 6800GT 128mb

onboard sound (A brand soundcard soon)

harddisk

Ive only seen one game with a similar inefficient performing gameclient which is called Everquest II.

Apart from this and with the sound turned off untill I get my new soundcard and memory upgrade, Im having a blast. Finally a new MMORPG with interesting crafting again.

Comments

• dandy230dandy230 Member UncommonPosts: 116
    You don't say?

I'm also stuck with using a pos on-board sound since my audigy gave up on me.
  • AbraxosAbraxos Member Posts: 412
    Originally posted by someforumguy