Quantcast

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Questions about NCSoft and botting

BlaadBlaad Member Posts: 64

L2 is the only mmorpg I have ever played.  I have been playing the game since prelude. NCSoft tacitly approved of botting from C1-C4 (especially in C3 and C4).  Presumedly, for the subscription fees.  I have some questions for experienced mmorpg players:

1. Have you ever seen or heard of a mmorpg company intentially not enforcing its TOS to maintain subscriptions or is this type of behavior unique to NCSoft?

2. Does NCSoft allow botting in any of their other games (e.g. CoH, CoV) or was this unique to L2?  If it was unique to L2 do you know why?

3. Would participating in a nonenforcement scheme hurt a career in the gaming industry?  Im thinking of people like HGMspam, Mistryl, Rust, etc.  Spam is the leader of the GMs and is responsible for the enforcement of the TOS.  He would have to be a key player in a nonenforcement scheme.  Mistryl is the L2 community manager and principal moderator of lineage2.com.  NCsoft suppresses almost any information about botting and lack of TOS enforcement.  Mystryl would have to be a key player in the suppression of this type of information.  And Rust is the North American producer of the game.  Would a legitimate gaming company hire people that participated in this type of behavior at a previous company?  Do you know of anyone that participated in this type of silliness that has played a prominent role in a game at a different company?

4. Why do you think NCsoft is enforcing the TOS at the moment? Do you think its a permanent change of policy or a temporary action to accomplish some short term goal?  If its a temporary change what is motivating them to enforce the TOS now?

Thanks

Comments

• ZorvanZorvan Member CommonPosts: 8,912

1. No, but they're one of the worst.