Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

I need to start programming!

I already posted a topic about programming on the correct boards. Unfortunately those boards are dead, so I'm posting this one here. I really want to program an MMOG. I know that this isn't a "Point-and-click" situation, and it will take years of hard work to accomplish. First of all, I have no knowledge of programming whatsoever, though I do know a great deal of knowledge on computers compared to many that are my age.

I wanted to purchase a book earlier today that was called "3D Programming for Teens." I thought, "Wow, this is convienient." However, I didn't have enough money to purchase the book (I only have 5 bucks) and might save up for it. First, I plan to start off with a very simple 3d game that has crappy graphics, but this will just be my test game. As I get better and better at programming, I will continue to work on the same game, but improve the textures, lighting, and overall graphics. Eventually when I get good at making Single-Player 3d game making, I can learn how to make my own MMOG!

I know that in order to make a thee-dimensional game, I must have graphic design, 3D Modeling, and programming knowledge. The only games I have ever created are ones using software called Game Maker, but this was without any tutorials or anything of the sort, therefore my game was a piece of crap.

My questions are:
  • What script do you recommend me using?
  • What kind of photoshop should I use for graphic design?
  • What should I use for 3D Modeling?
  • Should I save up and buy that book? If not, where can I get good information on how to program?
The book comes with a disc that includes a trial of CorelDRAW12, 3ds Max8, and 3d Blitz. If Blitz is a programming language that I should start out with, PLEASE notify me. Thank you for all of your help!

Comments

• nomadiannomadian Member Posts: 3,490