Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

This thread is a short quip on what I have played; Need your counsel on what I should play now

ReeseFlamelocksReeseFlamelocks Member UncommonPosts: 45
edited February 2021 in The Pub at MMORPG.COM

I’m not going to bore you with my life story or needless opinions, but the following is my experience, in a nutshell, with previous MMORPGs and perhaps your thoughts on what I should try next. I usually play “thief/assassin” or “tank” types. The date denotes the year I started playing. If you can relate, any input would help me out.

Ultima Online (1997) – You mean I get to play a fantasy game with/against other people? 

Dark Age of Camelot (1999) – Have to admit, facing a dual wielding axe Midgard Troll zerker was pretty exhilarating with my Armsman. 

World of Warcraft (2004) – Seemed ok, but a month playing didn’t draw me in. Any better now? I hear it’s still around. 

Dungeons and Dragons Online (2006) – Combat had a good pace, and had consequences. If you weren’t playing smart enough, you’d be dead pretty quick. 

Lord of the Rings Online (2007) – Great graphics, world immersion, and combat mechanics, and each problem had multiple solutions. Invested a lot of time into this one. 

Conan the Barbarian (2008) – Combat was clunky and sucked. But I was playing with a bad internet connection at the time. Still around? 

Rift (2011) – I have to admit, combat was just fast enough to satisfy, but not so much that you wonder what just happened to the boss that died in front of you before you blinked. Played this for a while. 

Guild Wars 2 (2012) – Lot of great concepts, like the seamless transition from one experience to another. But honestly, I got like 3 (or was it 5?) special abilities? Plus, all the bosses died so quickly. Got bored. Story seemed ok. Any different now?